Falmouth Radio Series to go on air in London

Falmouth Radio Series to go on air in London

Unspoken Words, which began as a fifteen minute community radio program on Falmouth and Penryn’s The Source FM, will be broadcast on London’s award winning Resonance FM, every Monday from March 7th to April 25th.

“The show has changed a lot since The Source gave me the opportunity to produce my own show. I think it’s become much funnier over the three years, but it’s also more of a challenge to write new material as well as perform and record it on such a regular basis.” (m.d.)


(if you prefer to experience the show using “CC” subtitling use this link)
The series is known for its trademark fifteen minute humourous monologues, and many episodes are recorded with a live audience. You can see how its done for yourself at the forthcoming Telltales where an ‘Unspoken Words’ recording session will be part of evening’s events at Falmouth’s The Rum Bar on Tuesday March 29th, 7:30pm.

If you’re interesting in learning more about writing for yourself or for performing, Mac also leads some unique one day writing courses suitable for all ages.  You can find out more about these courses by looking up Cornwall’s ‘The Poetry Point’ or ‘The Caravanserai Project’ based on The Roseland Peninsula.

In the meantime, Unspoken Words still goes out every Wednesday on The Source – 96.1 FM at five o’clock, or you can listen online to the London broadcasts every Monday at 4:45pm for the next eight weeks on www.resonancefm.com.

‘In the hands of someone like Dunlop, performance poetry can encompass a whole range of different styles, and crowd-pleasing entertainment is only one of them.’

Edward Picot, Editor, Hyperliterature Exchange

Unspoken Words2011

on Resonance from Monday March 7th to Monday 25-4-11

www.resonancefm.co.uk/listen

check out the news at The POetry POint

www.thepoetrypoint.wordpress.com

Unspoken Words, 2011 the 3rd season of the series that reflects on a single word, and what a single word can inspire.

Genre: humour, spoken word radio

Duration 15 minutes

Writer/Producer: Mac Dunlop

7-3-11 16:45 GMT

Unspoken Words 2011 Episode 1

Guilt

“I am soooo, sorry! I feel awful about this, really, I can imagine how you are feeling, but I want you to know that I take full responsibility, it is entirely my fault and I just hope that we can get over this and move on, heal up, remember the good times, be nice to each other, come to a better understanding, because, this week, Unspoken Words – the series that reflects on a single word, and what a single word can inspire – looks at (and I can’t tell you how awful I feel about this…) the word “guilt”.”

14-3-11 16:45 GMT

Unspoken Words 2011 Episode 2

Size

“I rather grandly jangled the loose pounds in my pocket as I stepped from the hill into the health food shop and breathed deeply the scent of fresh warm bread and pot pourri of  lavender as I perused the menu.  But what struck me today, apart from the surprise that this had not struck me before was that this menu this sign, not only  described what pasties I could choose from, but also gave me yet one more choice to make beyond that –

by which I mean of course : size!”

21-3-11 16:45 GMT

Unspoken Words 2011 Episode 3

Television

“My brain loves the idea of watching television, it gets to pretend it isn’t attached to a body,  I just feed it crisps, pizza, any high salt content snacks, just expose my brain  to television and I kind of astrally project out of my body, attached by some mystical naval umbilical cord – every now and again my real body likes to idly put a finger in the bellybutton hole, and pick at the tiny bits of fluff trapped between the folds of skin that hide my slightly infected piercings.  Then I get to work on picking the scabs…but lets save that for another show…”

28-3-11 16:45 GMT +1

Mac Dunlop’s Unspoken Words 2011

The series that reflects on a single word, and what a single word can inspire.

Episode 4: Geography (recorded live)

“We were invited round for dinner to the geographer’s house. Now, when it comes to going out for dinner, I’m not one for dressing up, rather I like to do some research, I enjoy feeling fashionably equipped for conversation, -we were after all, visiting not just one, but two very esteemed geographers, as well as their ten year old daughter (whom, during the course of my research I had come to think of as  their geographically enhanced child).”

Website: www.thepoetrypoint.wordpress.com

4-4-11  16:45 GMT +1

Mac Dunlop’s Unspoken Words 2011

The series that reflects on a single word, and what a single word can inspire.

Episode 5: Regeneration

“Building sites may look like a bomb site to the untrained eye.  And either way through regeneration or de-construction, the physical history of a place is changed forever, whether through the shifting sands of time or the impatient hands of humanity.”

Website: www.thepoetrypoint.wordpress.com

11-4-11  16:45 GMT +1

Mac Dunlop’s Unspoken Words 2011

The series that reflects on a single word, and what a single word can inspire.

Episode 6: Television

“My brain loves the idea of watching television, it pretends it isn’t attached to a body. I just expose my brain  to television and kind of astrally project out of my body, attached by some mystical umbilical cord – every now and again my real body will idly put a finger in the bellybutton hole, and pick at the tiny bits of fluff trapped between the folds of skin that hide my slightly infected piercings.”

Website: www.thepoetrypoint.wordpress.com

18-4-11  16:45 GMT +1

Mac Dunlop’s Unspoken Words 2011

The series that reflects on a single word, and what a single word can inspire.

Episode 7: Humour (recorded live)

“From Einstein to Judy Garland: Once, your health could be diagnosed in a humorous way, referring to the fluids of the body – the ‘humours’. An illness could be understood through interpreting these bodily fluids, their colour, viscosity, and so on.  Back in the days, it was thought that the body could fill up with too much humour, so the easiest thing to do was to let some out – drain the body of its humour if you will.”

Website: www.thepoetrypoint.wordpress.com

25-4-11  16:45 GMT +1

Mac Dunlop’s Unspoken Words 2011

The series that reflects on a single word, and what a single word can inspire.

Episode 8: Wet (recorded live)

“For some years I have fantasized about the term ‘wetware’ – ever since someone explained to me that it was a modern way to refer to ‘the body’ – in relation to all the other ‘ware’ things that have become integral parts of our lives. Hardware, Software, Firmwear tupperware, those sorts of things, and, like so much of what we associating things with, ‘wet-ware’ is  a catch-all term for kinky kinds of technologically enhanced ‘sex’.”

Website: www.thepoetrypoint.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

